Good deal alert: all Upway reconditioned bikes are now eligible for the government's bicycle bonus!

Electric cargo bikes: the versatile solution for your transport needs

The electric cargo bike allows you to transport heavy things and/or people thanks to its front or rear loading space.

Don't miss the bike of your dreams

BBF Bike Miami
-40%
BBF Bike Miami
2022 1ft65" - 1ft90" 6mi

2,749.00 € 4,599.00 € neuf

I:SY Cargo N3.8 ZR
-32%
I:SY Cargo N3.8 ZR
2023 1ft60" - 1ft90" 49mi

3,499.00 € 5,149.00 € neuf

Twelve G4 Cycles
-33%
Twelve G4 Cycles
2019 1ft65" - 1ft85" 6946mi

3,499.00 € 5,243.00 € neuf

Yuba Supercargo CL
-21%
Yuba Supercargo CL
2024 1ft55" - 1ft90" < 5mi

4,149.00 € 5,299.00 € neuf

Yuba Supercargo CL
-21%
Yuba Supercargo CL
2024 1ft55" - 1ft90" < 5mi

4,149.00 € 5,299.00 € neuf

Yuba Supercargo CL
-21%
Yuba Supercargo CL
2024 1ft55" - 1ft90" < 5mi

4,149.00 € 5,299.00 € neuf

Bakfiets Cargobike Long Steps
-24%
Bakfiets Cargobike Long Steps
2022 1ft60" - 1ft90" 103mi

4,399.00 € 5,839.00 € neuf

Winther CX
-40%
Winther CX
2022 1ft65" - 1ft90 < 5mi

4,549.00 € 7,595.00 € neuf

Moustache Lundi 20.5
-20%
Moustache Lundi 20.5
2023 1ft60" - 1ft90 8mi

4,999.00 € 6,299.00 € neuf

Riese & Müller Packster 70 Vario
-35%
Riese & Müller Packster 70 Vario
2023 1ft60" - 1ft90" 28mi

5,699.00 € 8,775.00 € neuf

Urban Arrow Cargo Flatbed L Enviolo Automatic
-11%
Urban Arrow Cargo Flatbed L Enviolo Automatic
2022 1ft50" - 1ft90 < 5mi

5,749.00 € 6,521.00 € neuf



What is an electric cargo bike?

An electric cargo bike is designed for transporting small, bulky goods, pets or people, especially children. It features pedal assistance, enabling the rider to move forward with little effort. It is also commonly referred to as a "cargo bike".

The cargo bike has been around since the early 20th century, when it was used by travelling salesmen to transport their goods. Today, it has become totally democratized in the Netherlands, and is tending to become so in France too, thanks to its great practicality.

The advantages of riding an electric cargo bike

There are two main categories of people for whom riding an electric cargo bike offers real advantages: professionals (delivery drivers, itinerant merchants...) and families. Here's a closer look at the respective advantages of these two types of cargo bike.

The electric cargo bike for families

Families are the biggest fans of electric cargo bikes! This fully-fledged means of transport is ideal for speeding around town or country. Other road users are generally amused to see them go by.

Depending on the model, cargo bikes can safely accommodate up to 4 children of all ages. Children really enjoy riding them: it's a comfortable way to enjoy the scenery while being right next to the driver. In the event of bad weather, there are protective covers to keep your children out of harm's way. By opting for an electric cargo bike, dropping the kids off at school becomes a real pleasure for the whole family! The chore of getting everyone into the car and struggling to fasten seatbelts is a thing of the past...

The electric cargo bike for the pros

Electric cargo bikes enable delivery drivers and other professionals (tradesmen, shopkeepers...) to save precious time on their journeys. Thanks to pedal assistance, they can go faster, with less effort. The impact is also financial, since recharging an electric bike costs less than filling up a car. Last but not least, riding a cargo bike allows you to get around easily in small, car-free streets and pedestrian zones.

To meet all types of needs, there are different electric cargo bikes, with trailers of varying sizes, conveniently equipped, and can be refrigerated or even used as freezers.

The different types of cargo bikes with electric assistance

There are different types of electric cargo bikes, to suit all types of use. Cargo bikes are particularly well suited to electric power. They offer you considerable assistance to get around in this heavy vehicle (between 30 and 55 kg), to which you can add loads of up to 200 kg on some models!

Electrically powered two-wheelers

Two-wheelers have two wheels and a loading area located between the steering column and the front wheel. The trailer is generally located at the front, offering a low center of gravity. It is comfortable and equipped with seat belts. The main advantage of an electric two-wheeler is its maneuverability: it's easy to maneuver around town. On the other hand, its length can be a problem (it's usually over 2.50 m long), especially when parking.

The Babboe City electric cargo bike is one of the best-known models, thanks to its excellent maneuverability. It's ideal for both long distances and city trips.

Electric scooters

Three-wheelers (or cargotrikes) are the most common electric cargo bikes: they have three wheels, positioned differently depending on the brand. Models with two wheels at the front offer greater comfort and stability, and are ideal for carrying passengers. Models with two wheels at the rear are more suitable for transporting goods.

The Amsterdamair brand from Vendée specializes in the design of electric scooters. Its models have an easily recognizable Dutch frame that can be straddled.

The electric longtails

There are also longtailsThese bikes have no cargo box, but only a reinforced rear rack capable of accommodating a secure seat (to be added). This extended bike offers ample space, making it practical for taking up to 3 children or bulky luggage with you. It's the easiest cargo bike to handle.

Finally, you'll also find compact electric cargo bikes, up to 170 cm long. These models have two loading areas: front and rear. They're ideal for transporting both children and goods, making it easy to weave your way through traffic and find a parking space.

Yuba Electric Bikes, a Franco-American brand, suggests electric cargo bikes. Its Yuba Spicy Curry longtail is one of its best-sellers. It's appreciated for its stability (thanks to its low center of gravity) and sturdiness, particularly of the frame. This extended bike can accommodate two children, as well as your shopping bags.

How to choose your electric cargo bike

Your choice of electric cargo bike will depend not only on what you intend to carry with you, but also on the nature of your daily routes. As a guide, here's a look at the 10 best electric cargo bikes of 2023 on the market will be useful if you want to get informed and compare models comprehensively.

If you're wondering which electric cargo bike to choose for transporting your children in the city, we recommend a cargo bike with a front bucket. It has the advantage of being narrow and therefore easy to maneuver, especially when you need to squeeze through traffic or climb a curb.

If you want to transport up to 4 children, or if you want to keep your 2 children shopping, opt for a cargo bikewhich offers greater loading capacity.

Finally, the longtail is the perfect in-between if you're hesitating between a classic bike with child seat and a cargo bike. It's less expensive than an electric cargo bike, easier to handle and takes up less space. On the other hand, it's less easy to balance than a cargo bike with a trailer at the front, and can't protect your little passengers from the rain.

What autonomy for your electric cargobike ?

You can get an idea of the range of your electric cargobike by looking at its battery capacity, expressed in Wh. But depending on the weight you're carrying, the route you're taking (gradients, descents, climbs...), the weather (headwind or tailwind, temperature...), your riding style and the condition of the battery, range can vary.

A rough estimate is that a 375 Wh battery will last between 40 and 60 km. The greater the capacity of your battery, the longer it can travel without needing to be recharged. To choose the right electric cargo bike, you need to take into account the range you need, and refer to the number of Wh in the battery of your future model.

Which engine for your ebike cargo ?

To meet the requirements of European legislation, electric bikes (including cargo bikes) are fitted with a 250 W motor, enabling speeds of up to 25 km/h. The torque delivered by the motor is expressed in Nm (Newton-meter). The higher the torque, the easier it is to climb hills with little effort. For a cargo bike, a minimum torque of 40 Nm is preferable. If you live in a hilly area, opt for a higher figure.

A motor on the rear wheel activates the electric assistance when you start pedaling. It's ideal for giving you a boost when you start off (or after stopping at a traffic light, for example).

A central motor adapts to your pedaling. If it senses that you're having difficulty, for example climbing a hill, it activates. This makes for a smoother, more powerful ride, but is better suited to longer distances.

The best electric cargo bike brands

Some brands specialize in the design of cargo bikes. Such is the case of Babboe, the Netherlands' No. 1 cargo bike brand and leader in the field of two- and three-wheelers. The manufacturer's first electric model, the Babboe Big-E, was launched in 2009. Such was its success that all models now feature pedal assistance.

Urban Arrow is a Dutch brand. It has established itself as the world's leading manufacturer of electric cargo bikes, and is currently sold in over 26 countries worldwide. Urban Arrow cargobikes are powered by Bosch Performance or Bosch Performance CX electric assistances, and offer a wide choice of customization options.

Also based in the Netherlands, the young electric cargo bike brand Carqon designs electric cargo bikes and has won several international awards for the design of its models. They are also robust and high-quality, while providing trailer passengers with comfort and safety.

Franco-American manufacturer Yuba specializes in cargo and longtail bikes. Its colorful world is resolutely ecologically oriented: the brand's aim is to make it easier for families to get around, without having a negative impact on the environment. Getting around on a Yuba means doing your bit for the planet!

Finally, Riese & Müller electric bicycles, products by the popular German brand, offer a number of high-quality electric cargo bike models. These are two-wheeled bikes offering a wide range of configurations and accessories (60 or 80 cm body, child seat, additional battery...).

The various useful accessories for an electric cargo bike

To personalize the use of your electric cargo bike, there are numerous accessories, more or less useful depending on your situation. For example, depending on the age of the children you're transporting, it may be important to add a maxi cosy support, a baby shell, a toddler seat or a child seat for electric bikes. For added comfort, you can also add cushions for the seat or backrests.

The must-have rain cover is, of course, a protective tent, which you can easily attach to your trailer. Usually transparent, these covers keep your children dry. For professionals (deliverymen, merchants...), protective b'ches can be adapted to your trailer.

For cargo bike trailers not equipped with one, it's also possible to add one or more benches. Finally, to protect your cargobike when parked, protective covers are available in a range of sizes. They are useful for protecting it from rain, but also from dust.

If you want to drive your cargobike with your dog, a non-slip mat is recommended.

Child safety on electric cargo bikes and longtails

The Highway Code requires that children under 5 years of age sit in an approved seat fitted with a restraint system and footrests. From 5 to 12, only helmets are mandatory. But at present, there are no standards for transporting children on electric cargo bikes, and depending on the manufacturer, seatbelts are more or less secure.

If your cargobike is not equipped with reflective stickers on the transport box, don't hesitate to add some. If your cargobike is more than one meter wide, attach reflectors to the left and right of the widest points, so that you're clearly visible to other road users.

Can we put a baby in an electric cargo bike?

It's possible to put your baby in the trailer of your electric cargo bike from the age of 3 months, as long as it's equipped with a maxi-cosy baby carrier and your child's neck is sufficiently strong. Don't forget to cover up your little ones with warm clothing, hats, mittens, scarves or a footmuff for babies... as speed increases the sensation of cold tenfold. Finally, protect them from the rain with a protective cover.

Up to what age can children be taken to school on a cargo bike?

To determine the age at which you can take your children to school with your cargo bike, you first need to consider their weight and the maximum load supported by your EAB. You should also take into account the size of your children, who may be unsuitable for your rain tent. But, generally speaking, there's no maximum age for sitting in the cargo bike box!

Maintaining an electric cargo bike

To increase the durability of your electric cargo bike, maintenance is essential. Like a conventional or simple electric bike, it's important to ensure that the transmission is well lubricated and the tires properly inflated before each ride. You should also regularly check the tightness of the various components, as well as the wear and tear of the transmission elements (chain, sprockets, chainring), c'bles and brake pads.

As for the cargo area, protect your bike as much as possible from the elements and store it in a dry place. If you've ridden in the rain, quickly wipe the tray clean with a cloth. After a ride in the snow or sand, hose it down to remove any remaining material that could damage it. Regularly check that the trailer screws are sufficiently tight.

How much does an electric cargo bike cost?

The purchase price of an electric cargo bike ranges from around €2,000 for an entry-level model, to almost €10,000 for a top-of-the-range cargobike. The main reason for this price difference is the quality of the electric assistance contained in your ebike cargo bike. The higher the torque of the motor (enabling it to tackle hills without difficulty) and the longer the range of the battery, the higher the price of the electric cargo bike. The care taken over the finishing touches, particularly on the trailer, also plays a role, as does the place of production.

Good reasons to buy an Upway reconditioned electric cargo bike

Upway offers you a selection of inexpensive electric cargo bikes, with models reconditioned by our specialist mechanics based in the Paris region. Treat yourself to the ideal cargobike to take your kids to school, transport your groceries or deliver to your customers, thanks to our reconditioned used models. What's more, many of our longtails, two- and three-wheeled cargo bikes are eligible for government subsidies! Enough to significantly reduce the purchase price of your VAE!

Buying a reconditioned cargo bike from Upway also means reducing your environmental impact, by giving a second life to a fully-functioning EAB! We meticulously select the models we sell, and our reconditioning experts go through 20 checkpoints, ensuring you enjoy an electric cargo bike in near-new condition.

Your dream bike is not in stock?

New bikes are put on sale every day. Stay informed of new arrivals!

Vélo Cargo électrique et Long Tail électrique

Acheter un vélo cargo électrique a de nombreux avantages ! Le principal est qu’il vous permet de transporter des choses lourdes et/ou des personnes grâce à son espace de chargement situé à l’avant ou à l’arrière, tout en vous offrant une assistance au pédalage. Une aide non négligeable lorsque vous êtes bien chargé ! 

Vélo Cargo électrique et Long Tail électrique

Babboe Pro Cargo
-38%
Babboe Pro Cargo
2020 1,60-1,85m 5252km

€2.649,00 €4.299,00

Babboe Pro Cargo
-36%
Babboe Pro Cargo
2020 1,65-1,85m 4604km

€2.749,00 €4.299,00

Hercules e-Cargo
-54%
Hercules e-Cargo

SOLDES -200€

2016 1,70-1,90m 3365km

€2.849,00 €6.198,00

Babboe Pro Cargo
-30%
Babboe Pro Cargo
2020 1,65-1,85m 1955km

€2.999,00 €4.299,00

Nihola Family
-34%
Nihola Family
2020 1,65-1,90m 568km

€3.099,00 €4.700,00

Babboe Centaur Cargo
-17%
Babboe Centaur Cargo
2021 1,60-1,85m 58km

€3.449,00 €4.190,00

Moustache Lundi 20.3
-17%
Moustache Lundi 20.3
2022 1,60-1,90m < 5km

€4.149,00 €4.999,00

O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
-16%
O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
2021 1,60-1,90m < 5km

€4.199,00 €4.999,00

O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
-16%
O2feel Equo Cargo Power 7.1
2021 1,60-1,90m 33km

€4.199,00 €4.999,00

Carqon Flatbed FE2
-21%
Carqon Flatbed FE2
2022 1,60-1,90m 7km

€4.649,00 €5.899,00

Carqon Flatbed FE2
-21%
Carqon Flatbed FE2
2022 1,55-1,90m 7km

€4.649,00 €5.899,00

Urban Arrow Family
-19%
Urban Arrow Family
2021 1,50-1,90m 2453km

€4.749,00 €5.899,00

Moustache Lundi 20.5
-14%
Moustache Lundi 20.5
2022 1,55-1,90m < 5km

€5.699,00 €6.699,00

Moustache Lundi 20.5 Dual
-16%
Moustache Lundi 20.5 Dual
2022 1,60-1,90m 23km

€6.599,00 €7.899,00

Le vélo de vos rêves n'est pas en stock ?

De nouveaux vélos sont mis en vente chaque jour. Restez informé des nouveaux arrivages !

Qu’est-ce qu’un vélo cargo électrique ?

Un vélo cargo électrique est un vélo conçu pour le transport de petites marchandises encombrantes, d’animaux de compagnie ou de personnes, notamment des enfants. Il dispose d’une assistance au pédalage, qui permet au conducteur d’avancer en fournissant peu d’efforts. Il est aussi couramment appelé “cargo bike”. 


Très en vogue ces dernières années, le vélo cargo n’est pourtant pas une nouveauté : il existe depuis le début du XXe siècle et était utilisé par les vendeurs ambulants pour le transport de leurs marchandises. Aujourd’hui, il s’est totalement démocratisé aux Pays-Bas et tend également à le devenir en France, du fait de sa grande praticité. 

Les avantages de rouler avec un vélo électrique cargo

Il existe deux principales catégories de personnes pour lesquelles rouler avec un vélo cargo électrique présente de réels avantages : les professionnels (livreurs, marchands ambulants…) et les familles. Zoom sur les avantages respectifs de ces deux types d’utilisation du VAE cargo. 

Le vélo cargo électrique pour les familles 

Les familles sont les premières adeptes des vélos cargos électriques ! Ce moyen de transport à part entière est idéal pour se déplacer en vitesse, en ville ou à la campagne. Les autres utilisateurs de la route sont généralement amusés d’en voir passer. 

Selon les modèles, les vélos cargo peuvent accueillir en toute sécurité jusqu’à 4 enfants de tout âge. Ceux-ci apprécient beaucoup d’y monter : c’est un mode de transport confortable, qui permet de profiter du paysage tout en étant à côté du conducteur. En cas de mauvais temps, il existe des protections qui garderont vos enfants bien à l'abri. En optant pour un vélo cargo électrique, déposer les enfants à l’école devient un vrai plaisir pour toute la famille ! Terminée la corvée de devoir faire monter tout le monde en voiture et de se battre pour attacher les ceintures…

Le cargo bike électrique pour les pros

Les cargo bikes électriques permettent aux livreurs et autres professionnels (artisans, commerçants…) de gagner un temps précieux sur leurs trajets. Grâce à l’assistance au pédalage, ils peuvent en effet aller plus vite, tout en fournissant moins d’efforts. L’impact est également financier, puisque recharger un vélo électrique coûte moins cher que faire le plein d’un véhicule. Enfin, circuler avec un VAE cargo vous permet d’aller facilement dans les petites rues interdites aux voitures, ainsi que sur les zones piétonnes. 

Pour répondre à tous types de besoins, il existe différents vélos cargos électriques, dont la remorque est plus ou moins grande, aménagée de façon pratique, peut être réfrigérée, et même servir de congélateur. 

Les différents types de vélos cargos avec assistance électrique

Il existe différents types de vélos cargo électriques, pour répondre à tous types d’usages. Les vélos cargos sont en effet particulièrement adaptés à l’électrique. Ils vous offrent ainsi une assistance non négligeable pour vous déplacer à bord de ce véhicule lourd (entre 30 et 55 kg), auquel vous ajouterez des charges pouvant aller jusqu’à 200 kg sur certains modèles !

Les biporteurs électriques

Les biporteurs sont dotés de deux roues et d’une zone de chargement située entre la colonne de direction et la roue avant. La remorque est généralement située à l’avant, offrant un centre de gravité bas. Elle est confortable et dotée de ceintures de sécurité. Le principal avantage d’un biporteur électrique est sa maniabilité : il se faufile facilement en ville. En revanche, sa longueur peut être gênante (il mesure généralement plus de 2,50 m), notamment pour le stationnement.

Le vélo cargo biporteur électrique Babboe City fait partie des modèles les plus connus, en raison de son excellente maniabilité. Il est idéal pour les longues distances comme pour les déplacements en ville.

Les triporteurs électriques

Les triporteurs (ou cargotrike) sont quant à eux les vélos cargos électriques les plus courants : ils sont équipés de trois roues, placées différemment selon les marques. Les modèles avec deux roues à l’avant offrent davantage de confort et de stabilité, ils sont idéaux pour transporter des passagers. Les modèles avec deux roues à l’arrière sont plutôt destinés au transport de marchandises. 

La marque vendéenne Amsterdamair s’est notamment spécialisée dans la conception de triporteurs électriques. Ses modèles ont un cadre hollandais facilement reconnaissable et enjambable. 

Les longtails électriques  

Il existe également les longtails, qui n’ont pas de caisse de chargement, mais uniquement un porte-bagage renforcé, placé à l’arrière et capable d’accueillir une assise sécurisée (à ajouter). Ce vélo rallongé offre un grand espace, pratique pour emmener avec vous jusqu’à 3 enfants ou des bagages volumineux. C’est le vélo cargo qui a la prise en main la plus facile.

Enfin, vous trouverez également des vélos cargo électriques compacts, dont la longueur ne dépasse pas 170 cm. Ces modèles disposent de deux zones de chargement : à l’avant et à l’arrière. Ils permettent de transporter des enfants comme des marchandises, et de vous faufiler facilement dans la circulation, mais aussi de trouver plus aisément une place de stationnement. 

Yuba est une marque franco-américaine spécialisée dans les vélos électriques cargo. Son longtail Yuba Spicy Curry fait partie de ses best-sellers. Il est apprécié pour sa stabilité (grâce à son centre de gravité bas) et sa robustesse, notamment du cadre. Ce vélo rallongé peut accueillir deux enfants, ainsi que vos sacs de course.

Bien choisir votre vélo cargo électrique

Le choix de votre type de vélo électrique cargo se fera selon ce que vous comptez transporter avec vous, mais également selon la nature de vos parcours quotidiens. 

Si vous vous demandez quel vélo cargo électrique choisir pour transporter vos enfants et que vous évoluez en ville, nous vous conseillons un vélo cargo biporteur avec benne à l’avant. Il a l’avantage d’être étroit et donc facile à manier, notamment pour se glisser dans la circulation ou pour monter sur un trottoir. 

Si vous souhaitez transporter jusqu’à 4 enfants ou bien disposer à côté de vos 2 enfants des courses, optez plutôt pour un triporteur, qui offre une capacité de chargement plus importante.

Enfin, le longtail est le parfait entre deux si vous hésitez entre un vélo classique avec siège enfant et un vélo cargo. Il est moins cher qu’un vélo cargo électrique, plus maniable et moins encombrant. En revanche, l’équilibre est moins évident qu’avec un vélo cargo disposant d’une remorque à l’avant et il ne permet pas de protéger vos petits passagers de la pluie.

Quelle autonomie pour votre cargobike électrique ?

Il est possible d’avoir une idée de l’autonomie de votre cargobike électrique en regardant du côté de la capacité de sa batterie, exprimée en Wh. Mais, en fonction du poids transporté, du parcours emprunté (dénivelés, descentes, côtes…), de la météo (vent de face ou de dos, température…) ainsi que de votre conduite et de l’état de la batterie, l’autonomie peut être variable.

On peut ainsi estimer grossièrement qu’une batterie de 375 Wh permettra de parcourir 40 à 60 km. Plus la capacité de votre batterie est importante, plus elle pourra faire de longs trajets sans avoir besoin d’être rechargée. Pour bien choisir votre vélo électrique cargo, il faut donc prendre en compte l’autonomie dont vous avez besoin et vous reporter au nombre de Wh de la batterie de votre futur modèle.

Quel moteur pour votre ebike cargo ?

Pour répondre aux exigences de la législation européenne, les vélos électriques (y compris les vélos cargos), sont dotés d’un moteur de 250 W, permettant de rouler jusqu’à la vitesse de 25 km/h. Le couple, délivré par le moteur, est exprimé en Nm (Newton-Mètre). Plus il est élevé, et plus il vous sera facile de monter les côtes avec peu d’efforts. Pour un vélo cargo, un couple de 40 Nm minimum est à privilégier. Si vous vivez dans un lieu vallonné, optez plutôt pour un chiffre plus élevé. 

Un moteur situé sur la roue arrière active l’assistance électrique lorsque vous commencez à pédaler. Il est idéal pour vous donner un coup de boost au démarrage (lors de votre départ ou après un arrêt à un feu de circulation par exemple). 

Un moteur central, quant à lui, s’adapte à votre pédalage. S’il sent que vous rencontrez une difficulté, par exemple pour franchir une côte, il s’active. Il permet une conduite plus souple et puissante, mais est plutôt adapté aux longs trajets.

Les meilleures marques de vélo cargo électrique

Certaines marques se sont spécialisées dans la conception de vélos cargo. C’est notamment le cas de Babboe, la marque de vélos cargo n°1 aux Pays-Bas et leader dans le domaine des biporteurs et triporteurs. Le premier modèle électrique du fabricant a vu le jour en 2009 : le Babboe Big-E. Son succès a été tel que désormais, tous ses modèles sont dotés d’une assistance au pédalage.

Urban Arrow est une marque néerlandaise. Elle s’est imposée comme étant la première fabricante mondiale de vélos cargo électriques et est actuellement commercialisée dans plus de 26 pays du monde. Les cargobikes Urban Arrow fonctionnent avec des assistances électriques Bosch Performance ou Bosch Performance CX et proposent un large choix de possibilités de personnalisation. 

Également établie aux Pays-Bas, la jeune marque Carqon conçoit des vélos cargo électriques et a été récompensée par plusieurs prix internationaux pour le design de ses modèles. Ceux-ci sont également robustes et qualitatifs, tout en procurant aux passagers de la remorque du confort et de la sécurité.

Le fabricant franco-américain Yuba est spécialisé dans la conception de vélo cargo et longtail (vélo rallongé). Son univers coloré est résolument tourné vers l’écologie : l’objectif de la marque est de faciliter les déplacements des familles, sans engendrer d’impact négatif sur l’environnement. Se déplacer en Yuba, c’est agir au service de la planète !

Enfin, la populaire marque allemande Riese & Müller propose parmi ses vélos classiques et ses vélos électriques quelques modèles de vélos cargo électriques très qualitatifs. Il s’agit de biporteurs offrant de nombreuses configurations et accessoires (caisse de 60 ou 80 cm, siège enfant, batterie supplémentaire…).

Les différents accessoires utiles pour un vélo cargo

Pour personnaliser l’utilisation de votre vélo électrique cargo, il existe de nombreux accessoires, plus ou moins utiles selon votre cas. Selon l’âge des enfants que vous transportez, il peut par exemple être important d’intégrer à votre remorque un support de maxi cosy, une coque bébé, un siège bambin ou bien un siège enfant. Pour davantage de confort, il est aussi possible d’ajouter des coussins pour l’assise ou les dossiers.

L’indispensable à avoir en cas de pluie, c’est bien sûr une tente de protection, à fixer très simplement sur votre remorque. La plupart du temps transparentes, ces housses permettent à vos enfants de voyager au sec. Pour les professionnels (livreurs, marchands…), des bâches de protection s’adaptent à votre remorque.

Pour les remorques de vélo cargo qui n’en sont pas équipées, il est aussi possible d’ajouter un ou plusieurs bancs. Enfin, pour protéger votre cargobike lorsqu’il est stationné, des housses de protection existent, avec un format adapté. Elles sont utiles pour le protéger de la pluie, mais également de la poussière.

Si vous souhaitez conduire votre cargobike en compagnie de votre chien, un tapis antidérapant est conseillé. 

La sécurité des enfants sur les vélos cargos et longtails 

Le Code de la route exige que les enfants de moins de 5 ans soient assis dans un siège homologué doté d’un système de retenue ainsi que de repose-pieds. De 5 ans à 12 ans, seul le casque est obligatoire. Mais à l’heure actuelle, il n’existe aucune norme pour le transport des enfants en vélo cargo électrique et selon les fabricants, les ceintures sont plus ou moins sécurisées. 

Si votre cargobike n’est pas équipé d'autocollants réfléchissant sur le bac de transport, n’hésitez pas à en ajouter. Si votre largeur dépasse un mètre, fixez des catadioptres à gauche et à droite aux points les plus larges afin d’être bien visible des autres usagers. 

Peut-on mettre un bébé dans un cargo bike électrique ?

Il est possible de mettre votre bébé dans la remorque de votre vélo cargo électrique à partir de l’âge de 3 mois, à condition bien sûr que celui-ci soit équipé d’un porte-bébé maxi-cosy et que le cou de votre enfant soit suffisamment solide. N’oubliez pas de particulièrement bien couvrir les tout petits avec des vêtements chauds, bonnets, moufles, écharpes ou chancelière pour les bébés… car la vitesse décuple la sensation de froid. Enfin, mettez-les à l’abri de la pluie avec une housse de protection. 

Jusqu’à quel âge emmener les enfants à l'école avec un vélo cargo ?

Pour savoir jusqu’à quel âge il est possible d’emmener vos enfants à l’école avec votre vélo cargo, il faut avant tout se référer à leur poids et à la charge maximale supportée par votre VAE. Prenez également en compte la taille de vos enfants, qui peut être inadaptée à votre tente de pluie. Mais, de façon générale, il n’y a pas d’âge maximum pour s’asseoir dans le bac d’un vélo cargo !

L’entretien d’un vélo cargo électrique

Pour augmenter la durabilité de votre vélo cargo électrique, son entretien est primordial. Comme un vélo classique ou un vélo électrique simple, il est important de veiller à ce que la transmission soit bien lubrifiée et les pneus correctement gonflés avant chaque sortie. Pensez également à checker régulièrement le serrage des différents éléments ainsi que l’usure des éléments de transmission (chaîne, pignons, plateau), des câbles et de vos plaquettes de frein. 

Pour ce qui est de la partie cargo, protégez au maximum votre vélo des intempéries et stockez-le au sec. Si vous avez roulé sous la pluie, nettoyez rapidement le bac avec un chiffon. Après un trajet dans la neige ou le sable, passez un jet d’eau pour le débarrasser des restes de matière qui pourraient l'endommager. Vérifiez régulièrement que les vis de la remorque sont suffisamment serrées.

Quel est le prix d’un vélo cargo électrique ?

Le prix d’achat d’un vélo cargo électrique oscille entre environ 2 000€ pour un modèle d’entrée de gamme, à près de 10 000€ pour les cargobike haut de gamme. Ce qui explique cette différence de prix, c’est tout d’abord la qualité de l’assistance électrique contenue dans votre ebike cargo. Plus le moteur aura un couple élevé (lui permettant ainsi d’affronter les côtes sans difficulté) et plus sa batterie proposera une autonomie importante, plus le prix du vélo cargo électrique sera élevé. Le soin apporté aux finitions, notamment de la remorque, rentre également en jeu, tout comme le lieu de production. 

Les bonnes raisons d’acheter un vélo cargo reconditionné Upway

Upway vous propose une sélection de vélos cargo électriques pas chers avec des modèles reconditionnés par nos mécaniciens spécialisés et basés en région parisienne. Offrez-vous à petit prix le cargobike idéal pour emmener vos enfants à l’école, transporter vos courses ou livrer vos clients grâce à nos modèles d’occasion remis en l’état. De plus, une grande partie de nos longtails, vélo cargo biporteurs et triporteurs sont éligibles aux subventions de l’État ! De quoi faire baisser significativement le prix d’achat de votre VAE !

Acheter un cargo vélo reconditionné par Upway, c’est également réduire votre impact environnemental, en offrant une seconde vie à un VAE qui fonctionne encore parfaitement ! Nous choisissons minutieusement les modèles que nous vendons et des experts en reconditionnement passent en revue 20 points de contrôle, vous assurant de profiter d’un vélo cargo électrique dans un état proche du neuf.